Sunway City recognised for low-carbon initiatives


Sunway City recognised for low-carbon initiatives

Kuala Lumpur, 25 November 2016 – Master community developer, Sunway Property, recently bagged the prestigious Low Carbon City Award at the ninth Malaysian Institute of Planners (MIP) Awards for Planning Excellence held in The Majestic Hotel Kuala Lumpur.

The Low Carbon City Award recognises projects that implement low carbon city initiatives promoted within the Malaysian Government’s Low Carbon Cities Framework (LCCF) 2011. It aims to highlight initiatives that demonstrate efforts in implementing LCCF and illustrate how the initiatives have helped reduce greenhouse gas (GHG) emissions.

Sunway City was named the sole winner out of four submissions received for the category.

“Sunway City is indeed a role model for urban planning. The transformation of what was previously a mining wasteland into Malaysia’s first sustainable township, as recognised by the Malaysian Green Building Index in 2012, was spectacular. What is even more compelling is the developer’s sterling commitment to continue to pursue a zero-carbon agenda, more than 30 years after the conception of the master plan; a testament indeed to its commitment to making Malaysia sustainable for our communities,” said TPr. Ismail Bin Muhamad, Director of Planning Department, Majlis Perbandaran Subang Jaya who nominated the Sunway City integrated township for the Award.

Founder and Chairman of Sunway Group, Tan Sri Dr. Jeffrey Cheah, AO received the award on behalf of Sunway Property.

“We are humbled by this recognition as being the first LCCF township in the nation to win this prestigious award. Through our unique Build-Own-Operate business model, we are driving Sunway City towards becoming an even more effective low-carbon city in various ways for the benefit of our current and future communities,” he said.

Sunway City is Sunway Group’s first integrated township. Resurrected from a barren mining wasteland, Sunway City is 40% green; home to more than 150 species of flora and fauna, is 100% walkable through a canopied walkway and pedestrian walkways, as a result of a RM23 million investment by the developer, and a transit-oriented township development enabled by Malaysia’s first elevated Bus Rapid Transit – Sunway Line, the first public-private partnership between the Sunway Group and Prasarana Malaysia Berhad, which connects the Setia Jaya- Sunway KTM and USJ 7 LRT stations, serviced by eco-friendly electric buses.

Besides the existing sustainability initiatives, Sunway Group is currently driving to retrofit the older buildings, and is in the midst of converting the entire city into a smart township through its own SunwayNet, as well as building a water treatment plant to cater to the commercial buildings within the City.

In December, Sunway University will also be home Asia’s first Jeffrey Sachs Center on Sustainable Development (JSC) in Malaysia, a catalytic move to mobillise comprehensive collaboration particularly amongst Southeast Asian nations to move towards the 17 Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs). The Center is the result of a gift of USD 10 million from the Jeffrey Cheah Foundation, Malaysia’s largest education-focused social enterprise, and to date, represents the largest financial commitment focused on SDG education and implementation since 193 members of the UN adopted the 17 goals in September 2015.

The Malaysian Institute of Planners (MIP) Awards for Planning Excellence was created to recognise excellent practices, leadership and achievement in town-planning and the town-planning profession, as well as their contributions towards a better future for Malaysia.

The distinguished panel of judges for the MIP Low Carbon City Awards comprise industry experts, including the Ministry of Energy, Green Technology and Water’s Senior Under Secretary of Green Technology Sector, Puan Rogayah Kadari; Vice President of MIP, and Universiti Teknologi Malaysia Associate Professor Tpr. Hj Ahmad Suhaimi Ismail; Past President of MIP, Puan Khairiah; and Senior Assistant Principal Director Federal Department of Town and Country Planning, Ministry of Housing and Local Government, Dr Dzul Khaimi.

In total, twelve awards were given out to recognise best practices; namely, the President’s Award, Place Making and Public Space, Strategic Planning, Design Excellence, Low Carbon City, Innovative Planning, Community Based Planning Award, Heritage and Conservation, Planning Service, Planning Scholar, Young Planner of the Year and Outstanding Student Project.

*Image Caption: Founder and Chairman of Sunway Group, Tan Sri Dr Jeffrey Cheah, AO, receiving the Low Carbon City Award from Past President & Director of Low Carbon Cities & Sustainability Centre, Malaysian Institute of Planners, TPr. Norliza Hashim.

Sign up and stay updated
Get the latest property news, home solution tips, interior design ideas and property guides.
By subscribing, you consent to receive direct marketing from Malaysia Sdn Bhd (iProperty), its group of companies and partners. You also accept iProperty’s Terms of Use and Privacy Policy including its collection, use, disclosure, processing, storage and handling of your personal information.