An Introduction to Kuala Lumpur

Kuala Lumpur

Kuala Lumpur is the capital and largest city of Malaysia. The city proper, making up an area of 244 km2 (94 sq mi), has an estimated population of 1.6 million in 2006. Greater Kuala Lumpur, also known as the Klang Valley, is an urban agglomeration of 7.2 million.It is the fastest growing metropolitan region in the country, in terms of population as well as economy.

Kuala Lumpur is the seat of the Parliament of Malaysia. The city was once home to the executive and judicial branches of the federal government, but they have since moved to Putrajaya starting in 1999.Some sections of the judiciary remain in the capital. The official residence of the Malaysian King, the Istana Negara, is also situated in Kuala Lumpur.

The city is also the cultural and economic centre of Malaysia due to its position as the capital as well as being a primate city. Kuala Lumpur is rated as an alpha world city, and is the only global city in Malaysia, according to the Globalization and World Cities Study Group and Network (GaWC).

Kuala Lumpur is defined within the borders of the Federal Territory of Kuala Lumpur and is one of three Malaysian Federal Territories. It is an enclave within the state of Selangor, on the central west coast of Peninsular Malaysia. Residents of the city are known as KLites
View more

Kuala Lumpur Properties
Nearby Suburbs
Bandar Tasik S... (31) Bangsar (1883) 
Bukit Jalil (2095) Cheras (4793) 
City Centre (2780) Desa Petaling (173) 
Jalan Klang La... (1502) KL City (1980) 
Jinjang (100) Kenny Hills (311) 
Kepong (3439) Keramat (184) 
Latest Properties For Sale in Kuala Lumpur
Latest Properties For Rent in Kuala Lumpur
Most Popular Properties For Sale in Kuala Lumpur
Most Popular Properties For Rent in Kuala Lumpur

Back To Top